Show menu
Shooting People

NEW SHOOTS is Shooting People’s film competition which aims to support filmmakers wanting to take the next step in their career. Win mentorship from established industry names, filmmaking equipment, software, and a public screening of your short in London.

Shooting People members can submit to any round. Entry is free. Not a member? Join the community now at 50% off. (offer ends 31 Jan).

Film freelancers and creatives: click here for your exclusive ZIPCAR offer.

There will be four rounds to the competition in 2020 with entries open in January, April, July and October. Each round winner gets mentorship and prizes.

Submissions Open: Jan 1st- Jan 31st

  • Oscar Winning Producer Simon Chinn
  • Andee Ryder/Misfits Entertainment
  • Zoom H4N Audio Recorder
  • Sennheiser XS Wireless Digital System, Lavalier Set (including ME2 clip-on lavalier mic + portable wireless system)
  • Sennheiser Shotgun Microphone MKE600
  • Final Draft 11 Screenwriting Software
  • A years subscription to MUBI
  • A years additional membership to SP
  • A screening of your film at Shooting People’s New Shoots event, RichMix London.

Chloe White (An All Encompassing Light): "I was absolutely thrilled to be Shooting People's winner. It's been fantastic having my film screened in front a large audience (and making some great contacts through that), and then having some wonderful mentoring from top documentary producer Simon Chinn and production company Wildgaze. As a result of the mentoring, it's helped me to rethink my feature and restructure my trailer. The kit was fantastic to receive and the cash is a HUGE bonus. As an independent filmmaker it's so wonderful to have this kind of support and exposure. I've been a member of Shooting People since I began my career and through it, I've made really good friends, have taken advantage of the great discounts and heard about so many events and funding opportunities that have led to great things. Thank you!"

A massive thank you to all our Shooting People patrons, speakers and judges who continue to support our New Shoots initiative: Peter Strickland (In Fabric), Jessica Hynes (Years and Years), Shola Amoo (The Last Tree), Stephen Woolley (The Crying Game), Danny Boyle (Trainspotting), Desiree Akhavan (The Miseducation of Cameron Post), Alice Lowe (Prevenge).

  • Submission periods for each round open through January 1st - 31st; April 1st - 30th; July 1st - 31st; October 1st - 31st
  • One month after submissions close, three shortlisted films will be announced
  • These three films will be sent to a filmmaking patron who will select the winning film
  • Each round winner will be screened at a New Shoots live event
  • The overall winner will be announced at our awards ceremony

For more details, please see our FAQS

Our friends at ZIPCAR are offering filmmakers and freelancers a unique Shooting People deal:

  • £60 credit
  • Free Membership
  • Cheaper Ongoing Rates

Tick this box to confirm that you are happy for Zipcar
to contact you using the above details